2002-10-14

Randomness, posted at 9:04 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's been a while since I did the lazy diaryland trick of putting random anecdotes down as an entry. But tonight it calls for it.

**

If I hear one more person say that he or she would "love to make it" to my house concert but they are going out of town or have family coming in or have prior commitments or a birthday party or concert tickets or something else, I will be more irked than I am already. I have 8 confirmed. That's one-third of the way there. I'm worried.

**

Tobey keeps getting away. Bolting out the door when I open it. That was this morning. Luckily, he doesn't run away - he just kind of gets on the porch and sits there. Yesterday, I was excessively stupid, and accidentally/unknowingly propped the door open with a bag of books from The Book Thing. I noticed things seemed a little quiet around the house, I looked around, and Tobey was nowhere to be found. I live on a fairly busy road, so I ran out to the front yard, half expecting Tobey to be a splat in the street. Luckily, he came running as soon as I yelled his name. At least he's a good cat. I've got to be a better owner.

How could I not be, looking at these cute faces?:

**

I did something uncharacteristic today. I cut the sleeves off my soccer league t-shirt. It can be pretty intense, and I get way sweaty, so I thought it would help. This is something that the old Epiphany definitely wouldn't do.

**

Sweaters that I bought for myself last year are too big and baggy and make me look fat. I need a whole new sweater collection. I have now started looked at size medium first, then size large. I don't think I wear XL in anything any more. This isn't good for the budget, but it's good for the ego.

**

I did some shopping for my sister's Halloween birthday yesterday at Old Navy. I splurged on myself and bought a jacket for $7.99. It's electric blue and sort of retro looking. I was initially concerned that it was too bright, and even asked a random stranger if she thought it was. She said it wasn't, so I decided to get it. Plus, it matches my car. And it will keep me safe if I decide to go jogging at night.

**

Today was not one of my best teaching days. I hate parts of speech. I became an English teacher because I love literature and love helping kids find their writing voice. I think identifying parts of speech and writing well are two entirely separate entities. It's especially frustrating when I knew what a verb and a noun and an adjective were in the 2nd or 3rd grade, and these kids as 9th graders don't know. How can I teach something that it so second-nature to me? How can I teach something that I myself don't think is very important to know? To Kill a Mockingbird starts on Monday. Thank god.

**

I'm working way too hard. I was at school until 6 today, had a soccer game at 6:15 (we lost), and just got back at 9. I'm tired but wound up. I need to take care of myself.

**

I didn't go to the gym this morning because it took me an hour to find my keys.

**

I am a bit concerned about Hugasoul and wondering what's on her mind.