Wednesday, Nov. 27, 2002

Getting ready for Thanksgiving, posted at 10:36 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm back at school. Kids are so nice the day after you come back from being ill. I think they genuinely missed me. It was good strategy for me to be gone before the day before Thanksgiving, because usually the kids are off the wall before the holiday, but the sympathy factor is working in my favor today.

The sub doesn't sound like he was that great. I heard an unsubstantiated report that some kids were playing cards during the film. He didn't leave a report at all, though he did the required tasks.

Still, my mind is elsewhere. In less than five hours, I will be on my way to Nebo, NC. I'm trying to figure out a route there that doesn't require me to go on the beltway of DC. I think that's going to look like a parking lot today at around 4. If I can figure out a way to escape the city on 70 and then cut south, that would be ideal.

The drive is going to be swell. Me, alone with my thoughts. I've got The Autobiography of Malcolm X, Night, and The Shipping News on tape, plus tons of CDs to listen to - Justin Timberlake's Justified, Lisa Loeb's Tails, Michelle Shocked's Short, Sharp, Shocked, Bruce Springsteen's Greatest Hits, Bob Marley's Legend, Tracy Chapman's Crossroads, Lauryn Hill's Unplugged, Brenda Kahn's Destination Anywhere, Dixie Chicks' Home, Elton John's Songs from the West Coast and The Beatles' The White Album.

It's going to be a good holiday. I made quiche to bring to the dinner, and I think it turned out okay. I'm certainly no Emeril, as I didn't see a piece of wax paper that separated the two pie crusts and accidentally baked it into the quiche. But I got it out okay. I also wrapped all my grandparents' gifts last night, and drove Holden down to Alexandria to stay with Mike for the weekend. I'm so well prepared for this trip, it's not even funny. I hope it all goes as well as I hope.