2002-07-19

Being plagiarized, posted at 7:48 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Interesting dilemma I have on my hands right now...

In one of my education courses over two years ago, I created a week-long unit on African-American poets that is pretty damn good. I only got a freaking 92% on it because I didn't do something dumb my teacher wanted me to do with it, but it was intense, involved, and covered the span of poetry of the entire 20th century. It's based on core standards, but creative. Not to be immodest, but it's a good unit, and it also looks nice on the webpage.

I've never actually used the entire thing in a classroom - it's the type of creative unit that requires excellent classroom management, and I've never been there yet. Nor has the real life curriculum ever called for me to spend an entire week on African-American poets. I've used elements of it, but that's all.

Still, about once a month, I get an e-mail from someone who finds the unit on my old personal webpage, and has used it. They compliment me on it, ask me questions about it, and it's a huge ego stroke.

Anyhow, I just got an e-mail from a girl who says her teacher plagiarized the whole thing and turned it in for his or her work. Here's the e-mail: "I mean this chick stole your entire work, and handed it in as her work. She, or one of her teachers, published your work in a small reference library at the University of New Mexico. Unfortunately, you are not even mentioned in the bibliography -- small wonder since she would have been busted. I personally am just mad as hell that she so flagrantly stole your stuff. She didn't even bother to reword sentences. I mean it is word for word, picture for picture. She turned it in for a Bilingual Education class, Spring Semester, 2001. I wanted to get in touch with you first just in case you gave her permission to recreate your work. I hate to be a snitch, but, at the same time, I think that it is TOTALLY unfair that your great work is being stolen. It is in a library, where it belongs, but it SHOULD have referenced YOUR name, not some chick named xxxx xxxxx. For example, in your lesson plan you write: 1. To familiarize and expose students to a wide variety of 20th Century African-American poets. In her version, she writes: 1. To familiarize and expose students to a wide variety of 20th Century African-American poets.

I am serious when I say word for word. The only thing she changed was the name. I only want to do what is fair. I will look forward to hearing from you."

It's very strange, as I've never thought about my work being stolen before, and am not sure what to do about it. I guess I'll just follow up with this girl who e-mailed me out of the blue, but I'm not sure of her involvement in the situation. I do appreciate her telling me, but I sort of feel like it's not my place to follow up with it - it should be the person to whom the work is being turned in. Yet, I still don't want whoever this is to get away with it. I guess I'll follow up and see how it goes.

Otherwise, nothing new. Little sis and I are on are way out on the town tonight, and tomorrow we're spending the entire day and evening in Ocean City.

I'm exhausted just thinking about it.