Monday, Nov. 18, 2002

Got observed, posted at 6:25 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I was formally observed by my supervisor today. I think it went okay. I tried to do too much and ran out of time and didn't even get to show her what I've been most proud of so far this quarter - my inner-circle, outer-circle Socratic Discussion format. Only 7 out of 27 students got above an 80 on the reading quiz, so the discussion probably wouldn't have gone that great anyway, and two of the best discussors were gone, but still... I was disheartened.

I think she noticed my disappointement, as she said, "I saw you making the decisions to take a little bit of extra time here and there, and I agreed with them. You didn't want to rush what you were doing." But I've been considering how the entire class went all day - turning it over in my head - and I can't help but to think all the things I would do differently if I had to do it all over again. I wish she hadn't observed my first period, because I had revamped and retimed things by the time I went through the lesson the second time.

One good thing - my kids were great. Whereas I had problems with classroom management last year during my first observation - to the point where my observation went horribly and I thought I would be fired - this year she commented that I ran a very tight ship. That thought alone makes me chuckle. Me - a tight ship? I never would have imagined that this would be me. I actually think the kids were just extra good because she was there, but I still took it as a compliment with 9th graders.

Later, she and my principal came into my classroom. She had warned the department that this would happen, that he was observing her observing us. My principal and I get along okay, but it still made me uncomfortable. He rarely smiles, and him sitting in my room stone-faced and glum made me a bit nervous. They left after about ten minutes, and I purposefully said goodbye to him just so he would acknowledge me. Later, my supervisor told me that my principal told her in the hallway that I was one of the school's greatest success stories in terms of new teachers. I think this means that I really sucked at the beginning and my turnabout has been surprising, but I still took it as a compliment. I just wish I would hear more of that from him.

I was down for most of the day, because I only slept about four hours and kept turning the issue of my observation over and over in my head. I hope that during our meeting tomorrow, my supervisor will make me feel better about it. She usually does.

It was an especially long day, as we had a department meeting after school. We discussed what our department will recommend for next year's schedule. We currently are on a 90-minute block schedule. Students take four 90-minute classes each semester. Detriments to this system include having the opportunity to go a whole year without an English class (or without a math class, or a science class - whatever). I also hate the 90-minute time period. I feel like there is a lot of wasted time and down time, and ninety minutes is a long time for anyone to sit in one place - let alone a 14-year old. I think 60 minutes is an ideal time. We talked about it a while. Proposals include an A/B schedule, in which students would go to classes every other day throughout the year. The problem with this is that our classload would double and the ability to respond adequately to essays and papers will lessen. We could go to a full year of shorter classes, but they have to be short enough so that electives can still be fit in; students need to take eight courses throughout the year. It's like a big algebra problem. I'm not sure how other schools figure it out and why it is such a big issue with out school.

So I'm interviewing roommate candidates. This guy Nick just came over. He's probably about 30, is from Deleware, is African-American, and is an English teacher at a local community college. He seems like a nice guy. He smokes; I could smell it on him. But I guess this isn't a problem with me as long as it stays in his room. He seems laid-back, which is a good thing. The one thing that was sort of funny and sort of scary about him was that he said, "The one thing about me is that I got my broads. I bring them home every now and again. They never spend the night, though. I kick 'em to the curb before that happens." He said it with a grin. I didn't know how to respond - it's really his business. So I chuckled back. Another guy is on his way over now.