2002-08-01

New Experiences, posted at 4:27 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last night, Nick, Andie, and I made our way to a hip-hop open mic in Washington. I'd never been to an open mic with a band before. Performers would come to the stage, tell the band what type of beat they'd like, and recite poetry or rap over the music. It was fun, an interesting way to spend an evening. I loved the diversity of the crowd. To my right was a white lesbian couple, and to my left was a group of African-American teenagers, and this was typical of the entire audience - a little bit of everything. The performers weren't as multicultural - almost all Black men - but it was still a good time.

Tonight, Josh and I are guest bartenders at a trendy bar downtown. We'll be pouring beer, volunteering for the social softball league we just completed. Should be fun.

Tomorrow, summer school is ending.