2002-09-26

Mock Trials Went Well, posted at 9:52 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Today's classes: Mock trial went quite well. There are still improvements I'd like to make. My 7th period devolved into a rather vocal argument in the last five minutes about it. I loved that they were passionate about it, but still... part of the problem was because I don't think a kid understood the rules (only George was allowed to lie at all, and, then, only about the last scene with Lennie). I should really write everything down so I remember it all next year. But, overall, it was a big success. The state people didn't come into my room (all that worry for nothing - they didn't have time to see all the rooms), but a bunch of my colleagues and even some former students who remembered it from last year poked their head in during the proceedings. The kids were pretty charming. One girl stood up and objected to the opposing lawyer because, "She getting all loud on my client." For most of the day, I was able to sit off to the sidelines and just watch; I was hardly involved at all. I just let them do their thing. The judges did a good job of keeping everyone in check. It was a good day, but a bit exhausting.

Today's TV: The premiere of Friends was amusing, as usual. I still love Scrubs; it's about time there wasn't a "Walk the dog" show on right after Friends. It was a bit surreal tonight; I hope that it didn't lose viewers because of it. It's such a well-written show. I loved the singing guy from Men at War or whatever that band is.

Today's mood: Bored. Wishing the "Get together and watch Thursday night TV with friends" hadn't fallen through. Sitting at home in boxers with the animals. I'm quite amused that Tobey always looks so... um... alarmed. With his eyes and all. It cracks me up. And Holden has been pretty depressed lately, probably because I've been gone too much, so tonight he's been getting some attention. It's so great having a couple of animals; I'm the center of their world. I move from the den to the living room, and it's like they both think, "Ohhh my gosh!! He's moving to the couch! Are we ready? We've got to get ready! We've got to get there before he does to make sure we get a good spot by his side! Hurry! Hurry!"

Yup, I guess I really need to get a life.

Tomorrow is payday and the first ever English/Math Department Social at a semi-swanky place called The Owl Bar. Should be fun.