2002-08-18

In Michigan, posted at 10:25 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I am in Madison Heights, Michigan, and am typing in the den of my college roommate's house, where I stayed last night and will stay tonight.

I don't think I've written in a while. Here's a rundown:

Thursday, August 15
My birthday. Had a good day, a great workout, got to clean the basement out a bit. Went out to dinner with a small but close group of friends. Ate, drank, talked, and played trivia. It was a fantastic, low-key birthday celebration, with good friends.

Friday, August 16
Went to the Orioles/Tigers game, and made signs that said, "Please don't strike! This is Ernie's last season!" Ernie refers to Ernie Harwell, longtime Detroit Tigers announcer. I've been listening to him my whole life. He's an amazing man; he's 84 years old and has broadcast since the fifties. Ernie has one of the most distinctive voices ever - a light Southern accent and very smooth. Anyhow, people loved the signs, and we were photographed many, many times. In fact, I was on the front cover of the Baltimore Sun on Saturday (don't bother checking the on-line version; it's only in the print version). It was kind of weird to see my mug staring back at me when I unwrapped the paper that morning. It's even above the fold.

Saturday, August 17
Left later than expected for MI, after running some errands and finishing up my packing. I left at around 11am, and got to my destination at around 11pm. The drive wasn't bad, despite a standstill in the mountains in Pennsylvania that was so severe that people began playing football in the highway. I was listening to a great book - Dennis Lehane's Mystic River, which kept me enthralled the whole drive. There is still a tape and a half left, and I'm excited to see how it ends; it's sort of a suspense/thriller, but is much more of a character study. I'm loving it. I got to Jake's house, and he and his wife Anne welcomed me with open arms.

Sunday, August 18
Today, we went to the museum where Jake works, had dinner, and took advantage of the beautiful day by taking a three-hour stroll through Detroit suburbia. It was an excellent day. Jake and Anne have a 1-yr old baby, and she and I hung out all day. I want me one of those.

I'm much more reflective in my head right now than I am in my fingers, so this entry is much more of the play-by-play than the color commentary type. Expect that later, though.

I sort of feel like Albert Brooks in the movie Defending Your Life right now. Or the lion in The Wizard of Oz. If you know what I'm talking about, send it my way. Otherwise, just nod and grin.