Monday, Jan. 27, 2003

Hair like Macy Gray's, posted at 5:22 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The powers that be are actually doing something decent for a change, and are giving today and tomorrow as days that teachers can be in their rooms, grading finals and/or planning for the new semester. I'm done with the former, so I'm working on the latter, and it's getting me very excited about the new semester.

I've copied off my syllabi and the first homework assignment of the semester already. Tomorrow I'll be putting up posters, getting my seating arranged, and entering in students' names into my computerized gradebook. It's like a whole new first day of school, and it's exactly the thing I needed to rejuvenate myself.

We got our class lists today, and I was comparing them with other teachers who teach freshmen. I have a kid who doesn't do anything, a girl who is really quiet, etc. But one stood out more than any others:

Other freshmen teacher: "Oh, you have LaKeshia. I'm glad you have her. She's wonderful, always on top of things, you'll never have a problem with her... But two weeks ago, she was diagnosed with sickle cell anemia. They're giving her until she's 18."

Tears were welling up in her eyes. I could feel them in the back of my mind, as well. Then she said again what a great kid she is, and how her hair looks exactly like Macy Gray's.

What a sad thing. I don't know what else to say. I'm going to try to treat her as a regular kid, as I'm sure she wants to be treated. I don't know what else... I'll try not to think about it too much. I will not let her disease define her.