2002-05-31

Letter of rec, posted at 10:51 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

So, here's been my project for the day. Is it okay? I'm never sure about these things. It makes me feel awfully good when they ask me to write them one, though. "Marquel" (not his real name) is one of my smartest kids, but is pretty flaky about things sometimes. He's getting an 83 in my class and should be getting a 93. He's not good at asking questions - he seems to get his own idea about things and just does them. That's my only reservation about him. I'm not sure if paragraph #4 reflects that enough. That's my "reservation" paragraph. I think that makes it more realistic, though, doesn't it? I'm never sure. (Not to worry, the kid's name and the program's name are both pseudonyms.)

May 30, 2002

To Whom It May Concern:

I have had the pleasure of teaching Marquel Thompson in my Freshmen English class this semester. Marquel is an intelligent and thoughtful young man who has consistently produced quality work and shown initiative throughout the course. Within the first weeks of class, it was obvious that he brought an impressive range of talents to the course � substantial writing prowess, thoughtful and creative approaches to projects and assignments, and a keen intelligence. Marquel has remained one of my strongest students, someone I can consistently look to for a determined and contemplative effort.

Marquel has several strengths but his main strength, from my observation, is his maturity. His oral comments during discussions about literature reveal higher-level thinking that befits a student much older than a high school freshman. His writing lacks polish, but distinguishes itself by communicating an impressive comprehension of the serious and involved themes that the class covers. Marquel seems to see the world just a little differently than many other students his age; his comments in class spark new thoughts amongst his peers and catalyze discussion points that the class may not have reached otherwise.

In addition, Marquel is an independent worker who excels when allowed to be creative and expressive. I am thinking in particular of the work he did on a rather exhausting project in my class, one the freshmen have come to see as a benchmark of my course, called the To Kill a Mockingbird soundtrack. It takes a number of weeks, and asks kids to study the rather intense topics of the novel (racism, understanding of others, the travesty of justice) and relate them to songs of the students� choice using textual evidence from all pieces. The project required a PowerPoint presentation incorporating sound and visuals, as well as an involved essay. Marquel�s multi-media presentation was the most impressive I saw in any of my three classes, one that held up under the scrutiny of his peers and his instructor. This kind of work taught Marquel to think on his feet while giving a presentation, and to examine a complex and mature subject.

Marquel is an ideal candidate for the "S.T. Institute", because it seems to be a program that will enhance and develop him as a student and a young man. He has been a strong student in my course, yet his aptitude in writing and speaking suggests he could be even stronger. The program should instill some additional skills into Marquel that will ensure continued success here at (name of school) and a full realization of his potential.

I recommend Marquel Thompson without reservation, knowing that he will not only do quality work, but contribute to the learning environment of the institute. I would be happy to answer further questions about Marquel�s abilities or character should any arise. Thank you for your time and attention.

Would you accept him?