2002-08-22

Ode to hugasoul, posted at 11:29 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I just had an amazing three days with Hugasoul. What a positive, patient, and funny person she is, and what a great listener and traveling companion. With Josh's cancellation, many events meant to be done as a group have fallen only on her, giving her what I'm sure probably felt at least a little like and "outsider" feeling in many of the trip's stops. Yet, she's taken it all in stride, whether it's having lunch with my grandmother who has Alzheimer's or hanging out while I drop in on old high school teachers. She's a trooper, because I know it probably wasn't as easy as she made it seem. But she was wonderful with everyone, brightening encounters that were enhanced by her positivity and genuineness. Right now, I am totally gracious for her friendship. And I can't believe how much we laughed this weekend.

We were both almost hyperventilating in the last half hour we were together, when she stepped into a pile of dog poop with bare feet and instead of running for a towel, I ran for a camera.

I just dropped her off with a friend in Kazoo, and await the arrival tomorrow of two more fantastic friends - Gale and Erin. Jenni,Berty (who I'm ridiculously excited about hanging out again with for the first time in years) and N-medias-res (saving me from estrogen overload) will arrive later on Friday or early on Saturday. This has been a great vacation, and promises to get even better.

Also, part of me - a small part, like maybe my pinky finger or my earl lobe - is getting a little excited about school starting on September 3.