2002-04-17

It's getting hot around here, posted at 7:55 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

No entry yesterday, and much of the reason was a lack of energy. We had record-high temperatures here yesterday - up in the nineties. Because no one was used to it, the kids and their teacher were listless all day. I actually had some good moments in class yesterday - I taught them how do do a Powerpoint, and the rule was that if I heard any talking whatsoever while I was talking, then I was turning off the fan. I made good on the threat earlier, so during that portion of class it was dead silent. This sometimes denotes a lack of participation, but in this case they were all listening intently.

"The highest compliment you can give someone is rapt attention." I think Dale Carnegie said that.

Last night was parent/teacher conferences. I had five parents come out of ninety students. So is the case with city schools. It's not that the parents don't care (although some don't), it's that many of them are working or taking care of other kids or have transportation issues and can't come to meet teachers. I really have a hard time dealing with this, however. It just seems like people should make this a top priority. To each his own, I guess.

We have four baseball games this week - Monday, today, and a double-header on Friday. This will be quite a week for that, that's for sure. Coupled with Eleanor's visit this weekend - a drive down to DC on Friday night after the second game - it should make for a blazingly busy week. But at least I'm having fun.

I got my first traffic ticket this morning at 5:30 am on the way to the gym. I rolled through a stop sign. The police officer ticketed me for not having a registration, which was nice ($30 and no points). Still, it's annoying. I didn't even try the "my dad's a cop" thing.

That's all for now. Things are good. I love this weather, my workouts have been great this week, and so have my kids.