2002-06-20

Renee hooks up with Josh, posted at 12:52 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

School's out, and I've been without a computer. I haven't checked my e-mail or diaryland in about four days. At least today I'm getting the diaryland thing taken care of, but my e-mail account is still unvisited; apparently hotmail doesn't work from the school's computer lab here. They've probably got some sort of program on here to prevent kids from checking their e-mail during school.

There isn't a whole lot new to report, I must admit. Even though I'm teaching summer school and have been in training all week, life has been pretty dreamy. Not dreamy as in like a fabulous dream come true, but dreamy as in slightly catatonic, a little off-kilter, a little weird feeling. My routine has been interrupted. While my days have still been filled up with work stuff, the lack of students and the quiet have really changed how the days are filled. All will change on Monday, though, when the students come in who have flunked courses.

I found out today that I'm teaching English 3 this summer, meaning I'll be getting Juniors who have flunked. It should be a small group. In addition, the city has made it so the kids only have to pass the city-produced final exams to get credit for the summer courses. Many of the failures already have passed this test; they failed the course because they didn't come to class or didn't do the work. Therefore, I think a lot of kids will just come on the first day and the last day to take the test, and be done with it.

And, you know what? I wouldn't really mind. I'm not going to encourage it, but if the city makes an asinine policy like that, then they deserve asinine results. Besides, most of the students in summer school will have the skills - they're just the type that have a hard time being in class every day. The fact that the city doesn't realize this is ludricous.

Here are a few other updates:

Monday night: Had a softball game. Lost, but had a blast. I went 3-3 with a triple, two singles, and three RBI. Afterwards, everyone went out drinking. It was the last official day of the school year, and everyone was in a celebratory mood. I was the DD, so I only had two beers. However, I had a good time watching everyone else getting drunker and drunker around me.

At one point, Josh (ex-roommate, good friend, goofy guy with a cool outlook on the world and a perpetual smile on his face) took me to the side and asked me what I thought of Renee. You remember, the Renee from a few entries back who I thought had a little thing for me, and who I possibly had one for her in return. I hadn't seen her since that entry - she's been working like crazy - but she was at the bar after the game having a good time. Anyhow, Josh told me that he thought Renee did have a thing for me, and told me to go for it. I was exhausted and my head hurt by that point, but I grinned and said I'm working on it. We left a few minutes later. I drove drunk Josh, drunk Renee, and drunk Teri home.

Anyhow, Josh had left some beer in Renee's fridge, so he ran into her place to get it as we dropped her off. Well, Teri and I waited for five minutes in the car for him to return, and finally we called up there. No answer. We called her cell phone. No answer. Suddenly, Josh called me on my cell phone, and slurred, "Epiphany, man, I'm having a really hard time getting this beer out of the fridge! I think you'd better go on without me. I'll find my own way home."

So, yup, it appears that Josh and Renee hooked up on Monday night. At first I was angry - not fifteen minutes after he said I should go for her, he drunkenly did just that - but now I just think it's amusing. I liked her, but there are more fish in the sea. She was just alright. I haven't talked with Josh yet to see what actually happened, but I'll get the scoop on Saturday. He called on Tuesday morning, but we haven't actually talked yet. Again, I'm not pissed off. I'm sort of laughing about it.

The rest of the week hasn't been nearly as eventful. Training has been okay - mundane, but okay - and it's nice to be presented to by others rather than having the pressure of presenting myself. I played raquetball last night with Mike for over an hour, and it was a ball. We also saw The Bourne Identity, which we both loved.

Oh, I dropped the roommate ad, because I continued to get weird calls. Like the woman who called and left me the message, "Yeah, um, I need to move in tomorrow!" with a sense of desperation in her voice. I'm going to try to recruit at new teacher training. I'm not desperate yet.

Gotta go. Eyelids are heavy.