2002-01-31

Getting sick, posted at 3:35 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Entry #2 of the day:

Today was another good day. I'm back at the stage where I'm really loving the kids here. I can't believe the difference between this and last semester. I wonder if it's me, or if it's them, or if they're just acting this way because it's still early in the semester. Regardless of the reason, I'm going to enjoy it.

I'm also really enjoying my new schedule. Instead of having 1st period planning (from 8:30-10am) and 4th period lunch (11:38-12:05), I now have 4th period lunch and period 5/6 planning. So, basically I have a planning period from 11:38 until 1:45. It's really great. I've been accomplishing a lot of work during those blocks - much more than last semester during first period. It's grand.

Teaching first period is also great. The kids are tired and very docile. You could hear a pin drop today. They were started on their drill before announcements came on. I had to tell them to lighten up a bit and that the expectation was simply that it be started before announcements are finished.

In other news, I'm sick. Ugh. I had thought I was feeling crummy because I haven't been very active this week. I've felt crummy almost all week. I did some stuff - went for a run with Holden on Tuesday night, lifted weights rather listlessly a couple of nights, did some pull-ups, etc. But I've felt crappy and haven't done much, and it's only getting worse.

Tonight is the kickoff for the season of the Sports and Social Club in the city, and they're all meeting in a bar for $10 all-you-can-drink Miller Light drafts. Sounds fun, and I could have brought friends... but I feel like shit so I don't think I'm going to go. I'm going to pick up some Ny-Quill on the way home and sleep for twelve hours tonight. That'll be the ticket.

My friendship with Nick continues to develop. We hang out during our mutual planning periods, we joke about our shared students, and we made some plans to get together on Friday night. He's a good guy. I sort of feel dorky about writing about him so often, but it isn't very often that I make what could be a really good friend. Plus, it's so nice to have a friend here at work that I can really relate to (another first year, single, male teacher just out of college). I've made good friends in the department, but there's got to be some sort of plateau in how close of a friend I can be to a 40-year old married woman.

Life is still good, but I'm looking forward to getting in bed tonight. Tomorrow we're reading Langston Hughes' short story "Thank You Ma'am" in class - it's always been one of my favorites, and I want to be healthy and alert as we discuss it. The kids are also having a quiz over my nine-page syllabus, which I'm immeasurably proud of.