Friday, Dec. 06, 2002

F'd up car, F'd up computer, posted at 10:20 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Another snow day today. Wow.

Yesterday was sort of a crummy day. I managed to F up my car and F up my computer.

The car story: I decided to drop off books at the library, which was closed because of the inclement weather. I was inching up to the drop off slot, with my foot not even on the gas, when I hit a curb. My two airbags both disengaged. I couldn't believe. Nothing happened to my car - it on the axle bar, and at 5mph, so nothing negative happened to the car - but my airbags exploded. I hear it's way expensive to get them fixed. I can drive and everything, but the front of my car has some fuzz in it, and I couldn't quite push the airbags all the way in their holes. My beautiful car looks shitty.

I was on the way to Best Buy, where I bought an internal CD burner. I F'd up my computer trying to install. It says there is a hard drive failure. Today, I brought it into Best Buy again to have them install it, and now the CD burner project has gone from very cheap to more than I wanted to spend. Oh well.

I'm not down, though. I just got almost all the way done with my Christmas shopping. This doesn't sound very masculine, but I really enjoy Bed, Bath, & Beyond. It's just such a nice store - everyone there is so friendly, and I got almost everyone on my list gifts there. An electric windchime for grandpa. A home brewery system for dad. Collage picture frames for granmda and mom. A magnifying, light up mirror for Heidi. On the way to my car, an old man saw me carrying the bags. He laughed, and said, "Wow, they've got you trained to go to Bed, Bath & Beyond already, eh?" We had a little conversation, in which I convinced him that he should go into the store. People are friendly this time of year.

I love Christmas so much.

Tonight is the lighting of the monument downtown. I think some friends and I are meeting at Sascha's for dinner and drinks before walking over. It should be a great night.