2002-09-03

First day of school, posted at 6:02 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Today is the first day of school. I'm ready.

I didn't sleep very well last night, nor get to bed as early as I had hoped. This is generally the rule on the eve of the first day of school, for me. I hope it continues. I remember that one of the reasons that I admired my mentor teacher was that she still got nervous on that night, even after twenty-seven years of experience.

I was online this weekend, but didn't update. Not much to write about. I was sick for a good portion of Friday night, took Ny-Quill, and slept for 17 hours. I woke up feeling heeled, and went out with Josh on Saturday night. London Lou's wife is out of town, so Josh and I thought it would be funny to go sit on his front porch and wait for him to get off work. We did, and he was absolutely thrilled to see us. What a great guy he is; I hope I'm like him when I'm 50. The night was fun, and we ended up at Nick's place for the evening. Everyone was a little dejected, as no one was able to score any weed.

That previous sentence was hilarious to write. Yes, I'm 25, not 17. Understand that I wasn't dejected, as I've never smoked the stuff, but my friends were.

At Nick's, I started to feel all crappy again, and realized that downing six beers after having a temperature over 100 degrees the night before probably wasn't the best idea in the world. I asked to be taken home, where I again took a shot of Ny-Quill and slept for a while.

Sunday was slow. I again felt better after waking up and hydrating myself, and decided that a trip to the gym would help my health a bit. I was now a bit concerned that I would feel all crappy for the first day of school, and I didn't want that. Getting my heart pumping at the gym did seem to help, and I came home, got a good night of rest, and felt fine yesterday.

I spent much of Labor Day - yesterday - in my classroom. It was the only day of the weekend that they opened the school for us to work, and I spent a good five hours there finishing up on loose ends.

I'm ready.