2002-03-08

Finger broken, posted at 7:59 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Some recent developments...

***

I broke my little finger yesterday in baseball already, and a line shot came right at my chest. practice. At least, I think it's broke. I can barely move it and it hurts like hell. I was standing to the right of the pitcher during a scrimmage of the guys who had pretty much made the team. A line drive was hit right at me. My mind was yelling at me, "MOVE! MOVE! MOVE!" but my legs didn't listen. The ball took a glancing blow sideways off my left pinky. I laughed it off, but it's not seeming so funny now.

***

I finally found car insurance that was somewhat reasonable. It's through GEICO (not gecko) and I'm getting it for $150/month. This is much more than I used to pay for my eight-year old car in Michigan, but much less than the $240-$280 everyone else was quoting me. So now I'm insured.

***

After yesterday's trial, today will be kind of anticlimactic in the classroom. I'll be doing more objective pronoun stuff, we'll do some debriefing on the trial, and a little bit of review for their test on Tuesday.

***

So, my banner is finally working, and I got 268 page views yesterday. My average before that time was around 60, so that's sort of exciting. Welcome everyone! Sign the guestbook. :)

***

Berty called last night, and we had our first long conversation in well over a year. I miss her. Amongst our topics of conversation was this little exchange about my being single:

B: So, I'm checking out Internet personals for you, to find an artsy girl with funky glasses.

E: Cool.

B: But I'm not really sure how far away you are from places. How far are you willing to travel?

E: I dunno. Not too far. I'm actually pretty content in my being single right now.

B: But, Epiphany, if you were getting laid, you'd be way beyond content. You'd be like, "Fuck baseball. I'm going have sex. You be better than content. You'd be freaking happy!*

E: Yup. :)

So, Berty is now scouring Internet personals for a suitable woman for me. That could be cool. *berty may not have actually used the word "freaking."

***

My finger hurts from typing. How am I going to hit grounders today?