2002-03-06

Coaching baseball, posted at 11:17 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last night was my first official day of coaching baseball, and it was a blast.

At 3:20, I trudged off to the field, tired and ornery from an abnormally long-feeling day in the classroom. By the end of practice at 5:30, I felt rejuvenated, alive, and respected.

It's cool to be called "Coach."

This is a city school, and baseball doesn't hold as high a priority here as it does in the county; therefore, the kids' skills seemed lacking in some ways. That's okay - it makes coaching them more fun.

Today is a Black History Month assembly, so classes are all shortened and the day has been flying by. I hope the assembly goes well. We've got a famous Black social critic doing the keynote address, and a lot of kids doing bit parts around it. One of my favorite students is doing spoken word, accompanied by a saxophone player.

My workouts are continuing to be one of my day's highlights. Since President's Day, I've only not gone to the gym twice - and both days were because I had to come into school early to prepare for my formal observation. Every day, I go to bed with a different part of my body sore, and I just love that feeling.

Can't wait for practice tonight.