2002-05-10

Busy weekend is upon me, posted at 1:16 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

A lot of random topics today. I just had a whole long entry deleted on accident:

***

I have very high teacher esteem right now. I'm a good teacher. I'm especially realizing it today after seeing a candidate try to teach my 28 ninth graders about commas today. She was awful. I realize it's a tough situation to come into, but, wow, it was pretty bad. Eventually, my department head called me over, whispered in my ear, and told me, "We've got to get her out of here. Try to interrupt and take over."

***

I love when my baseball players call me "coach" in the hallways. We're playing a county team in the playoffs today, and we'll probably lose (poorly funded city teams can't really compete with the gargantuan budgets of county schools), but it was a great season. I'll look back at coaching as one of the highlights of my year. Hell, of my life.

***

I went out last night for Randy's b-day. I sang "I got you babe" with Michelle. We brought down the house, and it may become our signature song. Too bad I feel like I'm cheating on Janine. That was the song we always used to sing together. But how many other karaoke duets are there where the guy doesn't need to have a voice at all?

***

Michelle and I are heading to see Melissa Ferrick tonight. In fact, we're going to three concerts together this weekend. I know what you're thinking... "Singing love songs together, similar interests, doing stuff together all the time. So, Epiphany, give us the dirt: is there something happening there?"... Sorry, nope. Melissa is happily nearly engaged to a really nice guy living in Ohio who she's been with for five years. He may even become my roommate this summer; he's thinking about moving down. With his music taste, I bet we'd get along. So, alas, no getting together with Michelle. Which I'm fine with.

***

I got home just in time to watch the last eight minutes of ER and get horribly depressed. I haven't watched the show since Abby got beat up a few months ago, but I'm still sad about Dr. Greene's passing. I think Michelle taped it; I've got to watch the whole thing.

***

It should be a good weekend. Kristin is coming tonight. She's got a concert in town. I'm seeing Melissa Ferrick with Michelle (I'm still trying to get rid of the other two tickets I bought). I'm seeing Kristin's show with Davinci's Notebook on Saturday night, and Dan Bern for the 7th time on Sunday night. Should be a busy weekend, but that's okay. Life is good.