Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2002

Tuesdays with Epiphany, posted at 4:46 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I've got these kids trained so well on the inner/outer circle Socratic Seminar format. I love them. The discussions, I mean. I sit there with my laptop, taking notes on everyone - how everyone is listening, how everyone is contributing, how everyone is taking notes. One glance in their direction is enough to get them on task if they are off.

I turned in my grade forms. The essays I was grading weren't complete, but we get the grade printout forms back tomorrow, and I can make any changes I need to off of the estimates I made today. It's a pretty sneaky plan, but legal as far as I know. I plugged in numbers for the kids whose essays weren't done, and I doubt if anything will vacillate more than a point or so once the actual essay grade gets put in there tonight, sometime before or after 24 comes on.

I've made a new friend at work - the new 9th grade counselor. He's 29 but looks 22, and is new to the state. We had a fun time out last Friday night, and now he's hanging out a bit with our "group." He won this free Happy Hour on Thursday at Have a Nice Day Cafe, so we'll be heading over there after we leave school.

My roommate ad will be running again tomorrow in the City Paper. Ugh. I hate looking for roommates, I hate the thought of living with people I don't know, and I hate picking people to live with based on a phone conversation. Jesse moves out into his new house on Dec. 1, and there's no way in hell I can make it through Christmas without another roommate.