Sunday, Dec. 01, 2002

Amelie, posted at 12:58 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Another entry, because it's been a pretty lousy evening and I can't sleep. I took Safeway brand NyQuil, so I should be able to sleep soon. But I'll write until then.

It's been a long, long time since I had to take drugs to fall asleep. That's a sign that I really need to work out. I guess that's what 11 hours in the car will do to you.

Anyhow, one thing I did this weekend that I want to mention is that I saw Amelie. What a great movie. Someone - I forget who - told me a long time ago that the titular character might be the perfect woman for me. Upon seeing the film, I would have to agree. She's something of a female version of me - a dreamer, an idealist - someone who probably smiles every time she sees a "Practice random acts of kindness and senseless acts of beauty" bumper sticker or describe themself as "quixotic" before she even totally understands the definition of the word. She's also someone used to being in the background, not the foreground (despite my profession, this is also me), has a keen intelligence (something I think of myself as having, whether it's true or not), and a streak of mischief (mine's probably a little more unruly than Amelie's). She's a withdrawn and internal type who studies every person from a variety of angles before approaching. On the down side, she's too guarded emotionally (that shirt fits me to a T) and doesn't take enough risks, at least with the heart. Yup, that's me.

Anyhow, I fell in love with the character and the film, which is one of the favorites I've watched in some time. The cinematography was beautiful and dynamic, keeping me interested throughout the film by varying every shot. It was a remarkably movie, reminding me a lot of Run Lola Run.

Tomorrow, I may go see Solaris. I wonder if Teri is back in town?

Oh, yes. This is something that struck me while with my grandparents at Thanksgiving:

Grandma's age when getting married: 16

Grandpa's age when getting married: 21

Grandma's age when first child is born: 20

Grandpa's age when first child is born: 24

Mom's age when getting married: 22

Dad's age when getting married: 24

Mom's age when first child is born: 24

Dad's age when first child is born: 26

And...

My age: 25

I'm a little behind schedule, wouldn't you say?