Sunday, Jun. 05, 2005

Crash, posted at 9:55 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I liked Crash, with its fine performances and big convoluted storyline. But a lot of it had been done before, and better - the dark body humor reminded me of Pulp Fiction, the in-your-face race issues reminded me of Falling Down, the unhappy Sandra Bullock character reminded me of the unhappy Julianne Moore character in Magnolia. In the end, Magnolia is the movie I most compare it to, and it pales... imagine Magnolia without Aimee Mann, without the frogs, without the frame story. Still a powerful movie, but not mind-blowing.

It's hard not to like a film with so many good actors, including underappreciated ones (Larenz Tate, Loretta Devine), ones that don't often get a chance to shine like this (Ryan Phillippe, Matt Dillon), and ones that just are great actors and everyone already knows it (Don Cheadle). There were moments where I was swept up in it all, but not quite enough. Still worth a viewing.

I went to go see it last night, alone, at 11:10pm. It was a total spur of the moment decision, made seconds after the Orioles hit their second grand slam to come back and beat my Tigers last night. What a pitiful ballgame. Wil Ledezma should have been sent to the minors a couple of weeks ago. I left my house at 10:52pm, pulled into the White Marsh theater parking lot at 11:08pm, and was in my seat by 11:12. I sat in the front row, because the theater was surprisingly crowded for such a late showing. I was in post-workout mode and sweaty, and hoping for a desolate theater, but no doing... it was crowded. Still, I forgot about all that and just lost myself in the film.

Today's schedule: Work out, Mow lawn, Watch game, clean house, softball practice, work on english I final.