Wednesday, May. 25, 2005

I hate Derek Jeter, posted at 8:43 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, I had to drop the class. I didn't have the prerequisite for it and I'm pretty irate about it, but a lot less stressed about paying for tuition at the moment. I'm mad at my advisor, and triple-checked all my material to make sure there's nothing about a prerequisite on anything, to ensure that it wasn't my mistake, and there's nothing. I feel like this woman really led me astray, and now is covering her tracks. She knows I'm mad, and that's good. But it's not a big whoop; it was just a six-week course and I'm set to go for the next six-week session in late June.

**

I really regret not getting into any TV shows this year. I loved 24 during the first two seasons, but haven't watched it the last two. I missed all episodes of Lost this year, and people in my department (historically not TV watchers) are talking about it at the water cooler all the time. I think I'd like Desperate Housewives because Marcia Cross freaks me out a little. But nothing. Part of the issue is I'm busy, don't have cable, and can't tape shows when I miss them. Plus the advent of the TV show on DVD makes me think I can just watch it anytime. But I miss it on nights like tonight, when I arrived home at 6pm and had little to do - and did little. Watching TV sometimes centers me, helps get me into a schedule that is sometimes difficult to do.

**

Did you all know that Elle is back, sort of? She is one of those distinctive writers whose voice pushes through the computer screen so it feels like you've met her and know her well. She's not quite back yet, but you can go visit.

**

Why haven't I seen Crash yet? Oh yeah, no friends to see movies with. I almost went alone on Friday night but had a student say she was going to go that night and wouldn't have wanted to run into a student alone on a Friday night at a movie. Going to the movies alone is fine, and I don't mind it, but it's more of a matinee thing.

**

I found out today that a colleague got offered a job for a prison school (!) and very well might leave. If she does, I'll move from 5th to 4th in seniority in my department. Next year will be a milestone - my fifth in the school. I have no real idea of what I'm doing with my career or life at the moment, and am a little worried of getting stuck in a rut or a constant cycle of just-alright-but-could-be-better living, but also recognize that I might not get the things I want if I move on elsewhere. I'll be there next year. After that, I don't know. I have no freaking idea. If this woman leaves, though, I'll miss her, though she sort of walks around with a target on her chest and if she leaves, the target has to fall on someone else - hopefully not me.

**

I think I'm taking a late evening trip to the gym right now. Well, right after this inning. The Tigers' bats are showing a little bit of life.