Tuesday, May. 24, 2005

first day of class, posted at 8:26 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Today, we read Seamus Heaney's "Blackberry Picking." One kid, very insightfully, compared the narrator's consistent failed efforts to enjoy picked berries before they rot to Charlie Brown always trying to kick the football out of Lucy's hands. Even though she always pulls it away from him, he's always there again, with the hope that this time she won't pull it away, that this time the football will sail.

I often imagine myself to be Charlie Brown, and today wasn't any exception. Charlie Brown soldiers on despite disappointment and obstacles and always has hope that things will work out. I feel like I have a lot of the same qualities. I work hard, I struggle, things don't work out all the time but I never lose sight that they will even with mounting evidence to the contrary.

Today was my first day as a student in a classroom in five years. I'm taking a course on Research and Education. I took Bre's advice and parked at an office complex across from the university. I parked at around 3:45, giving myself plenty of time to find my building and make it to class by 4:20. I wandered around quite a bit and had to look at three separate maps, but made it there by 4:15. The whole time, it's pouring down, and my umbrella doesn't quite cover me and my backpack. Either I'm getting wet, or my backpack is. By the time I get to class, I'm sopping wet and have a lot of that flourescent green shit they use to grow grass down my pantlegs, but all is okay. But, I made it.

I'm the only guy in my class. The one cute girl there is married. But, it's a good class. The professor is the brother of a guy I taught with three years ago, and, while the class was a little dull, that's probably going to be expected with a first day of a class. I doodled a lot, which is what I did all through college classes. I start taking notes, and then start doodling, then turn the page so I can start fresh, then doodle some more. But he told us that we didn't need to take notes, and I was listening to everything - I just need to multitask all the time. It makes me feel more my kids a little bit.

Anyhow, why was today a Charlie Brown day? Well, as the class progresses, it becomes evident that I'm missing something. The guy says that the textbook being used is the same as the last course. He says we'll be working on ideas generated from EDUC 605. Shit, I think, but figure it was maybe just suggested that I take that course first. Nope. A conversation with him after class reveals that it appears I had to take the other course first, meaning I can't take this class and the two-and-a-half hours I spent today were pretty much a waste. That course has not been available since I started signing up. In fact, no other courses I need are available this session. This means, I guess, that I won't be taking any courses right now after all, unless my advisor can work some miracles.

On the walk home, I got so lost I ended up at the Towson Library down York Road. The walk to my car took almost an hour. The cool post-rain evening wasn't unpleasant, though, so I decided to just enjoy the walk.

With the Tigers down 11-0, I think I'm going to go to bed early. I didn't sleep too much last night; the pain in my eye was that extreme where sleep was impossible. Today, it feels better, but I have went ahead and made yet another doctor's appointment. I feel like I'll be blind by 35 with all the problems I'm having with my eyes.