Sunday, May. 22, 2005

The onslaught of summer, posted at 3:52 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

After working an outlandishly bad shift at the restaurant on Saturday afternoon, I went to the O's game. Great night for baseball, and Bedard looks like the real deal. Plus, I went with a girl. Alone, with a girl, on a date-like situation. I cannot complain about that. The night ended with the two of us carousing around some Federal Hill establishments and meeting up with some friends. Pretty fun night.

The summer is advancing quickly. I hate the summers for the most part, because I consider the two months of no paycheck (no, we don't have the option to get paid in the summers or have salary spread across 12 months here in B*city) to be like getting laid off. I've saved more this summer than the previous three, but it won't be enough to cover the $1641 I have in monthly, unable to avoid bills, and I'll run out of money by August 15 and then not get paid until September 10. Still, I've got a lot of fun plans for just about every week and am hopeful I'll be able to do all of them without indebting myself.

I'm also keeping the restaurant job, but my evenings will be full often because of classes I have to take. Therefore, in my search for an afternoon job, I think I'm going to apply at Trader Joe's for the summer. God knows I like it there, and believe in their products, and like to talk to customers, so I think it could be a good match. I also assume they get paid next to nothing there, but I cannot complain about that when next to nothing is more than nothing.

This is set to be a very weird week at school. It's the week of HSA testing, and our school district has decided that students not taking the tests will not report to school until noon, and then classes will be held from 12-3:15 and will be 25 minutes each. It's laughable that someone thought this was a good idea for the kids, but it's going to make my days pretty chill for about a week.