Thursday, May. 12, 2005

I like American Music. Do you like American Music?, posted at 8:54 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Twas a fun last practice. I ran the bases like a 12-year old as I had my volunteer coach hit grounders. We run them out so it's like a gam situation. It was a lot of fun. I've spent a ton of time with this group of teenagers year olds in the last two and a half months, and, this, our last practice, was a fun night to remember.

Tomorrow we play, at home, some team called Landstowne. I don't know if that's how you spell it. I don't know what part of the state they're from. I don't know their record. And I'm not trying to find out, either. They're just going to be a group of kids out there that we're going to beat. And I hope we do. We won't win Monday, so a first round playoff win is the most we can ask for this year.

I'm ready to have my life back a bit, but I'm going to miss this as well.

Meanwhile, I'm incredibly broke, and have no idea how I'm going to live this summer. I received today a $1948 bill from Towson University that I have to pay, and I'm barely making ends meet now, it seems. I just had to buy a new cell phone to replace my stolen one, just had to front money for the summer softball team, just took a hit on the field trip that I planned for the 9th grade, just had to buy gifts for my team captains and team managers, have to front for 40 copies of The Fifth Child next week, just had to make a huge student loan payment, and in general just can't believe how much money is going out and how little is coming in. I have to figure out a way up to Maine on June 18 for my oldest friend's wedding. My ten-year high school reunion is June 24 and I probably can't afford to go home. I'm broke. It sucks. And it's not even summer yet. The impending doom of going two months without a paycheck is making this ebb seem all the more ominous.

At least I have the Violent Femmes, though.