Saturday, May. 07, 2005

Stomach flu, posted at 7:52 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

What a whirlwind couple of days.

After returning from the free outdoor concert on Thursday, I went to bed pretty early in preparation for Friday's big day. But, I had a night not unlike hers. I awoke at around 1am, feeling queasy and wondering why. Eventually, I had to rush to the bathroom and vomit. When I thought it was safe, I returned to my bed. It wasn't safe, though, as I had to return to the bathroom so often that night that it now looks like a biological war zone. Actually, it probably is a biological war zone in a way. Really, really gross. When I had completed vomiting, the other end of my body had a workout in expunging all unwanteds from my digestive systems. Ewww.

The only thing I can think of was the shrimp salad sandwich at Midtown was rotten in some way, and I now have food poisoning. Friday, I barely made it into school, and if it was any day besides the big field trip day, I would have called in sick. I walked right in and told my department head that I was really sick, and ended up having to run to the bathroom often during the day. Still, I made it through. A combination of laying down on the lobby couches during the play and putting an ice cold bottle of diet pepsi to my head pulled me through.

Truth be told, the kids did a little, too. The 400 ninth graders were well-behaved; the group putting on the production of Romeo and Juliet said they were amongst the best behaved groups they'd had all year. It all went without a hitch. One vet told me it was the most smooth field trip of this kind he'd ever seen. That all made me happy.

When I returned to school, I was hoping for rain, but it wasn't going to come. We played our big rival that night. I had to get a kid to be a base coach because I could barely stand and was nautious, and we ended up not being able to get anything going against the pitcher and lost badly. We're now 7-5. We will end up in 3rd place, losing both games against both the #1 and #2 teams. We have three games next week and playoffs start on Friday.

When I returned home, I crashed at 6:30, and slept straight through until 7. I'm still feeling queasy and I can't imagine eating anything today, which is a big deal because I haven't had anything since Thursday night. I might, though, I'll see how I feel. I think it's just a stomach flu. I was feeling all feverish last night - hot chills, hot eyelids and hot piss - but took Tylenol and that felt better. Now it's pretty much my stomach still in knots. Maybe if I'm lucky I'll lose five pounds or so thsi weekend as I recover.