Thursday, May. 05, 2005

First Thursday, posted at 9:35 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I played hooky from parent-teacher conferences today, something I've never done in four years of teaching. We're not contractually obligated to go to more than two a year, and this is the third, and I stay in good touch with parents - with an e-mail list and fairly frequent phone calls. Plus, they were scheduled for last Thursday, and I cleared my schedule to attend them, and they were moved to this Thursday last Wednesday. No reason was given for the late change, and I was irked, especially since I had longstanding plans.

So I didn't go. My department head told me I shouldn't, because this stuff shouldn't happen and if enough teachers don't do something about it, it will continue to happen. Still, I felt guilty most of the afternoon. It was especially disappointing because I headed down at around 4 o'clcok to Midtown in preparation for her concern, and none of my cohorts were there. I sat at the bar alone from shortly after four until the concert started at 5:30.

Sitting in a bar alone is not something I do, ever. It's an odd experience. At first, it's sort of cool. I'm sitting there, enjoying my window seat as I get lost in the City Paper and a Miller Lite. Then I decide that the Miller Lite is gross and upgrade to a Bass, and am still relaxing as the sun shines through the window. Then I realize I'm already to Savage Love and it's only been fifteen minutes or so. I double back, scanning all the political articles and movie reviews. Now I'm bored. There is only so much Kweise Mfume news a guy can handle in one afternoon. I begin calling every person I know in Baltimore, leaving messages like, "Hello. I'm sitting alone in the Midtown Yacht Club, waiting for First Thursdays. Want to come join me? I'm saving a seat for you." No one comes. I order a shrimp salad wrap that turns out pretty nasty, then pay my bill and leave. Neither of my friends I was meeting for the concert have arrived; both have stayed late at school. I feel guilty, a little drunk, and a little lonely.

I head outside, and the weather is nice. Jess Klein is singing, doing her best Susannah Hoffs. I get a beer and find a seat. Eventually Ryan shows up with his kid, then Rob a bit later, and then Fool. It turns out to be a nice night, one that probably could have started a bit later than it did. But I was so excited about my afternoon without practice that I had to do it. I wish tomorrow was a Saturday and not one of the busiest days I'll ever have teaching.

Not only have I headed up a field trip, for which I have to write two checks tomorrow totally $3705 (of which I have $3350 turned in from students), for which I am responsible for the behavior of 394 ninth graders, but my baseball team is also playing our big jerky rivals.