Saturday, Apr. 30, 2005

Summer plans?, posted at 11:18 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Wow, I cannot believe I'd never been to Nick's Fish House. My parents and I missed the turn off of Key Highway to my original idea for dinner - Hull Street Blues (easy parking, named after a cop show, nice place, shuffleboard) - and ended up in that Walmart/Sam's Club area underneat the highway that always confuses the hell out of me. But I remembered about this Nick's place where I've never had a chance to go. We eventually found it (it's definitely tucked away), and I was sufficiently impressed enough to declare it one of my favorite restaurants in Baltimore. I can't wait to go there when it's nice and you can sit on the deck.

I liked it so much I asked for an application. They're not hiring, but I figured the servers at the place make a ton of dough in the summers, and I'm looking to branch out from my wintery restaurant. I like working there, but it would be pretty cool to work at a high volume place where I wouldn't worry as much about every table tipping me 20% but rather just doing my job well. Plus, I'm ready for a brisker pace and a more laid-back atmosphere. I'll still try to keep the job at that restaurant because it's an ideal second job for a teacher, but would like something else in the summer.

I have no clue what I'm doing this summer yet. I have a slew of dates swimming in my head, but uncertainly about how I'm going to survive for two months without a paycheck. I've saved a bit, but that's all for naught once I pay for classes (already signed up), if I buy my house (fairly likely), or a washer/drier (definite) soon. I'm considering teaching summer school. Even though the thought of teaching summer school repels me at the moment, viable alternatives for teachers seeking jobs do not exist. Plus, I have to admit, the summer I spent teaching summer school here was definitely a good one. I worked from 8 until 12 every day, made decent money, then had the afternoons free until I did whatever I did at night, which was usually play softball and go to Looney's. That was three years ago, and this summer will probably be filled with more taking of classes (every Tuesday and Thursday... oy) and waiting tables than softball and beer. But there still will be softball.

Here are dates in neon lights in my memory now. I don't keep a planner, so this is how I remember:

May 13: Sign up for softball league.

May 24: Classes at Towson begin.

May 26: Todd Snider @ Ram's Head in Power Plant.

June 11: Aimee Mann @ Ram's Head in Power Plant.

June 18: 10 year high school reunion in South Haven, MI

June 22: Last day of school (I think)

June 24: Wedding in Maine

June 28: Michelle Shocked @ Power Plant Live

July 2: Wedding here in Baltimore, complete with an NBA star.

July 23-28: IB Training in Albuquerque, NM. Possibly a cool road trip afterwards.

August 13-19: Summer beach home on the outer banks, renting for a week.

August 25: Return to school.