Friday, Apr. 29, 2005

Parents visit, posted at 10:34 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm living with my parents right now. They're downstairs in the basement guest room, which is a big part of why I'm home at 10:35 on a Friday night on an evening when I'd like nothing more than to be out living it up somewhere. Today was a kids-free teacher inservice day, meaning I have much more energy than usual on a Friday night. We did manage a trip to Rocky Run tonight, though.

The parental units are down primarily for one of my kids' baseball games. We won this morning by a big score against a team that is now 0-10. It wasn't even very fun to beat up on them, because they're a bunch of kids who are playing baseball for the first time and it was mostly walks, errors, and (4!) hit batters that scored us runs. It was pretty cool to get a bunch of players in there who never get to play, as I used 20 of the 25 kids in uniform. If we would have played the whole seven innings, I would have gotten everyone in. I got a ninth grader in for his first game and first at-bat of the season, and he hit a double; that was a great moment.

Our record stands at 6-4. There are four, hopefully five, regular season games yet before the end. I say hopefully five because we're still trying to reschedule a rainout. We'll make the playoffs, and hopefully get a couple rounds into it before succumbing to some eastern shore or Arundel team. I'd also love to beat our big rivals next Friday.

Tomorrow, we're going to Fort McHenry to see the presentation of the flag - this is something that I did for the first time with my parents a couple of years ago, and it was pretty awe-inspiring the way it was all set up. If you haven't done that in Baltimore, I highly recommend. I also think it might be free. My mother's maiden name is McHenry, so we think James McHenry, for whom the fort is named, is an acestor. She likes to buy hats and t-shirts with her former last name on them, as well.

Let's hope my mother does not make any jokes about my father invading the Fort McHenry this time. Gross.