Tuesday, Apr. 19, 2005

Five year anniversary, posted at 7:45 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

A terrific victory by my boys tonight against a team that ten-runned us last year. I'm ecstatic. I put in a tenth grader to start the game pitching. It was pretty much his first game, and I had cut him last year. Well, the kid ended up pitching six shutout innings. They couldn't do anything with him. He's a little lefthander who pitches from the stretch all the time, and his uniform is so big that he looks like he's playing in the 1920s, but he still threw a six-inning shutout.

By the way, yesterday was the 5th anniversery of this online journal. Starting with this brilliant entry, I've been writing almost every day in here. This is entry 1258, which means that I write on average 69% of the time. I was pretty sporadic about it at first, as well as pretty out there - my address at that time was myactualname.diaryland.com. Since I went anonymous and moved to Baltimore and got a full time job, the journal has become more important to me. I documented my first year of teaching (I wish I had been more specific in my entries back then) and subsequent peaks and valleys.

I have been planning on writing this 5-year online anniversary thing for a long time. Then, I missed the date by a day. Now, I don't really have anything to say about it. Who can beat five years, though?

I still look around in Baltimore and am amazed that I had to balls to move out here. Now I seem to be in the need to sprout some balls again (should I buy a washer and drier? should I buy a house? should I really begin this grad program at Towson next month?), so I guess it's good to look back and remember that I was once a 310-lb, terribly depressed college senior trying to find a place in the world where my soul could breathe. I've found it.

By the way, I'm accepting gifts for the monumental occasion. If a washer or drier are out of your price range (like mine), then just check out my amazon wish list. Nothing like a shameless plug to remove any sense of dignity I might have had.