Saturday, Apr. 02, 2005

Run to Rocky Run, posted at 5:24 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I was going to go to the gym today for the first time since my vacation. I went last Good Friday, but not since.

Instead, I went to Trader Joe's and bought cheese. Then, I came home and ate it.

Oh well. I don't think I'll go until Monday (especially since tomorrow is a 14-hour day at the restaurant).

I read an article in Runner's World about how lifting weight is overrated for losing weight. If you read Men's Health or something like that, it will talk about how when resting, muscles will burn so much more fat than non-muscles, and if you lift weight, you will continue to burn calories at an accelerated rate for three hours afterward. If you just do cardio, you'll only burn at an accelerated rate for about an hour.

But this article contended that the extra calories that muscles burn is just about 25 calories a day. Enjoy that celery stick, it said.

My workouts in the last year or two have been mainly weights. I do cardio, but as an afterthought. About a month ago, I was running four miles every other day. It felt good, but I stopped doing it once baseball season started, as my workout time dwindled. Instead, I've been lifting weights for about 50 minutes and doing about 20 minutes of cardio. Perhaps I should exchange those two numbers.

I really would like to be in good beach shape by the summer, especially for the week in North Carolina that I'm taking in the middle of August.

I think I'm going to head over to Rocky Run right now. I'm heading over alone, and very well might be alone for some time while I save a table for everyone else, most of whom are interested in the big MSU game, like I am. I have no painted my face, but there is no doubt who I will be rooting for. Yes, I'm actually going to bring my dancing Spartan to sit on the table. It's times like these when I wish I knew where my camera was.

By the way, I wonder if I'll even get a table. It'll be busy. I wonder if my insider will be working.

Go Spartans!