Sunday, Mar. 20, 2005

ZZ, Baseball, posted at 8:50 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Tomorrow is the first game of the season for the varsity baseball team that I coach. We play a team that wasn't in our conference last year, so I'm unsure what to expect. I do know that Pasty will start at pitcher, Big Sam will start at DH and bat cleanup (after getting cut last year), Fetus and C.P. will be my #1 and #2 hitters respectively, Mumbles will be behind the plate, Teddy Graham has won the third base battle (for at least the first game), ShellBell will start at shortstop and hit third despite his weird stance that I swear hinders him even though he's the best power hitter on the team, and J-Man will start in right. My experiment with Nic in left field has worked out and he'll be starting there.

I'm excited, but I'd be lying if I said I wasn't hoping for a rainout tomorrow. You see, tomorrow is measuring up as a hugely stressful day, for the following reasons:

1. It's my first game and uniforms still haven't come in. If they don't come in, we'll have to reissue old uniforms. Either way, it will take a while and we'll already be scrambling to play our first away game.

2. I teach 7th period this year, so I have to get coverage from the time I leave on. The bus arrives at 2:30 and we have to get uniforms, pack, and change before it comes. 7th period starts at 1:30, so I'll be able to give instructions and leave. And I need magazines to use for my collage activity tomorrow.

3. Our All School Book author is visiting tomorrow. I'm the contact person who haphazardly arranged the visit five days ago. She bussed herself all the way from Pittsburgh on her own expense to come, and I'm worried it's going to bomb. And I'll have to bail at 2 to head to my game.

4. I can't find my cell phone. It's been lost since Thursday. Her number is on it, so I don't know how I'm going to get a hold of her if it's not on my desk tomorrow.

5. You know, lack of sleep and stuff like that.

Wish me luck.