Sunday, Mar. 20, 2005

he came back, posted at 9:13 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last night at the restaurant, I was greeted in my first shift in two weeks by a change in managers. After that initial shock - the former manager took a job in Houston, and the owner is taking over for the time being - I settled into my routine of working upstairs.

I had good night, feeling charming and doing a good job. I ended up with a table that came in at 7:30 and told me they'd probably stay until closing, which is 1am. They almost made good on their promise, staying until 12:15. They racked up a bill of $337, and they stayed far longer than any of my other tables, so I was really hoping they would make it worth it for me financially.

They split up the bill, and I could tell there was a little confusion amongst the drunkenness. Two of the couples paid $120, and the rest was on a credit card. I returned with the balance on the credit card ($97), and that guy tipped me $25. No one else tipped, so I was left with a $25 tip on a $337 bill, or 7%.

I was mad, and almost said something, because I felt like they had made a mistake. But how can you do that politely? So I didn't. I knew I had done a good job and that they had liked me. One woman hugged me on her way out and literally told me, "You did a great job." After they left, I joked that the verbal tip was enough, that I'm happy either way. I was a little bitter, but by that time just chalked it up to their own carelessness and nothing I did.

I was cleaning up upstairs, when I heard someone come in downstairs. It was the guy from the table, wondering if I got an okay tip. He said he and his girlfriend were leaving and they realized that I might have been stiffed when the bill was divided. I told them that I only got the 7%. He had me run his credit card for a penny, and he left me a $60 tip.

Zack reminded me that nice guys do do well in the end. If I had said something, they would have been embarassed. Instead, he came back and made sure not only to tip me, but tip me very generously at 25%, which is the amount he always leaves for excellent service, he says.

It restored my faith in humanity, I tell ya.