Friday, Mar. 11, 2005

Jolie Rickman, posted at 7:16 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Shocked to find out last night about the death of Jolie Rickman. I was listening to old CDs while cleaning the house, and decided to pop hers in. Then, wondered if she might be interested in playing a house concert. Saddened and Stunned to find out she was dead at the age of thirty-three.

I booked her about six years ago, and haven't thought about her much since then. Still, it was from her that I learned about the School of Americas; she was a nervy battler and I can't believe cancer beat her so young. We hung out a lot during that tumultuous weekend in East Lansing, more than with most singers, and I'm disappointed I never saw her live again or bought another of her CDs. And I'm saddened that she's not out there fighting the fight any more.