Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2005

first day of practice, posted at 8:05 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

A two hour delay today. I was hoping for another snow day, but the two hour delay was nice. I was so relaxed starting at ten, and then our classes were an hour long - a much better time period than ninety minutes. The day flew by.

Baseball practice was mediocre. Many kids thought it would be delayed because of the snow and didn't bring equipment, and, because of the snow, many kids are still finishing up winter sports. Add in the impossibility of practicing outside, a severe flu to my first baseman, two kids who showed up without getting a physical from a doctor (including one whose grandfather is a Congressman) so they couldn't try out, and no equipment, and it was a stressful day building up to the first day of tryouts. When they happened, though, it wasn't so bad - we did some running, some sprints, some swinging of the bat, a little tossing in a desolate hallway. It got old quick, so tomorrow we'll shovel off the tennis courts and play on there, but we pulled it off okay. I know that this is going to be all worth it when we're all out on the field in 75-degree April weather. I also know the getting home every night at 7:30 or 8 is going to be worth it, eventually, as well.

I'm also getting excited about fantasy baseball this year. It's looking to be a 16-team league (I'm hoping for 18 teams), and I've got the twenty stats chosen (ten for offense, ten for pitching). My Mockingbird Killers are going for a repeat.

Otherwise, nothing much is new. My crazy friend Stacy is in town for a few days, and I spoke with her on the phone, and we'll probably get together this week. I haven't seen her since 1999, when I weiged 310 lbs and she was the Common Grounds dominatrix.