Thursday, Feb. 24, 2005

Snow Day, posted at 8:09 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

For the love of god, why is school cancelled?

I didn't even think to check, and showed up in the parking lot at 7:54 AM all ready to go. Hmmm, no kids. Hmmm, no cars. I gave a colleague a call and was shocked to hear about the cancellation.

What a ridiculous decision, like the last one. I know what you'r thinking - how can this guy find a way to complain about a day off? Well, I'd probably be alright with it if baseball season weren't starting in five days. If eight inches come as rumored (now there's none - there's just a forecast of 2-4 or 3-5 or 4-8 inches, mostly betwen noon and 6pm, depending on who you're listening to), it may very well set my practice schedule back for weeks, and we'll have to do indoor practices in the back hallways of the basement (since, ahem, badminton gets priority in the gym).

I'll try to tak advantage of it and head to the gym and maybe back to the house to make it presentable. I'm also throwing around the idea of going back to bed - Two Gentlemen of Verona lasted until 10:40 last night, and I didn't get to bed until nearly midnight. By the way, the play was my first ever musical, and I enjoyed it a great deal. Whenever I go see unfamiliar Shakespeare, I always wonder if I'll understand it. But this was Shakespeare so revamped that anyone could understand it, with great 70s-era rock n roll songs as the backdrop. It was a pretty silly play, and lasted just a tad too long, but I enjoyed most of it a great deal.

PS: It's now 11:28am, and quite a bit of snow - looks to be 2-3 inches - has falled in the last two hours. Perhaps cancelling was a good idea. And perhaps I should already be planning on missing tomorrow, too. I wonder what movies are playing this afternoon?