Monday, Feb. 21, 2005

moving, posted at 10:26 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I helped a friend move all day today, and my body is hurting because of it. No trip to the on this President's Day, and it just wasn't an option - too sore. I guess moving was enough of a workout.

Since I've returned home, I've forged on with a lesson plan for tomorrow that I hope will knock the kids' socks off - a seven-stop station activity designed to get them thinking deeply about Part I of To Kill a Mockingbird. With everything from a crossword puzzle at one station to an Everlast song at the next, they'll have ten minutes per station and I hope it goes well.

Meanwhile, I am totally, totally exhausted. I guess cleaning up from the house concert will wait until tomorrow. In addition, I decided to clean out my car this week, which means everything that was inside my car is strewn across my living room. I didn't finish nearly all the grading I wanted to do today, but I do have a kickass lesson for tomorrow and that's priority I guess.

The lack of productivity today after the two days of productivity previously this weekend was offset by the good feeling associated with helping a friend. In addition, the no-nonsense lesbian who ended up being my moving partner for the day stopped at my house during one of the trips (my house is right in the middle of the two). She buys homes as a hobby and fixes them up. She proclaimed my house free from structural damage and thinks I'm crazy if I don't buy it for the prices the landlord is asking for it, which she swears is $50,000 less than what she thinks it's worth.

I don't know; the house seems pretty shitty to me still. But every now and then I look at it and get ideas. I have no idea why I don't get off my ass and do something about it. Probably that 3% down, which may as well be the asking price.

I would love for someone to just sit me down and explain the following things to me:
1. How to get a mortgage.

2. How to save money.

3. How to hook up my DVD player without unhooking my VCR.

4. How to fix my front screen door.

5. How to figure out my dental insurance.

6. How people who buy new houses also seem to buy new furniture for it right away. If they've just spent all that money saving for a down payment, how can they afford a space refrigerator and a washer and dryer? I can't afford a washer and a dryer, and I didn't just put 3% down.

7. How did my friend buy a house with $500 down and most people have to put down thousands?

8. When you read caloric information of gum, is it if you swallow it or don't swallow it?

I think I have to buy a home buying book for dummies tomorrow.