Monday, Jan. 31, 2005

grades turned in, posted at 5:26 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My grades are turned in, finally. I spent most of last night and most of today (thank god I'm showing Frankenstein to my juniors right now) getting them done for all 170 of my students. In looking them over, I might get in trouble for failing so many students. Teachers who fail a lot of students tend to have their lives made harder. I hope not. Because, of course, I didn't fail them, they failed themselves.

I think it will all be for the best. They'll get themselves in gear and make a comeback. Many already have. And the class is tough.

I've started pre-season baseball workouts, a full two weeks before the major leagues report. It's unofficial and optional, but I hope the kids show up. So far, I've had a handful, but many of the ones I would expect to show up are playing other sports. Today, we were in the weight room. I had my fill of teenage bragaddacio by about 5pm, so I headed home. I think I'm still going to head out to Bally's tonight to get a cardio workout in. I had some peanut M&M's today, so that especially necessitates it.

***

This article really makes me mad. Because it's not a black kid living on the west side, the murder gets extra coverage, and that just pisses me right off. If more people knew about what goes on in some of the neighborhoods in Baltimore, I think we'd have much more political pressure to do something about it. As it is, everyone - police, the mayor, the citizenry - just sort of turns a blind eye, and the deaths keep mounting. But you get two in Charles Village, and it's front page news.