Thursday, Jan. 20, 2005

Feeling better, posted at 7:10 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I wasn't optimistic this morning, when I woke up with all parts of my body pounding with ache and my throat as dry as ash, but once I hydrated myself and slept a few more hours, I awoke to find my flu dissipating. By the afternoon, I was vacuuming, and by the end of the afternoon, I was off to the store to replace the vacuum bag that had exploded in mid-stroke. I even went to the gym - feeling the need to sweat out the last remnants of my illness, and maybe oxygenate my system a bit to help the healing - and had a nice little 30-minute eliptical workout. I read the whole City Paper, including that depressing cover story, while on it.

I almost went to movies, coming as close to walking up to the machine, punching in what I wanted to see, and almost running my card, but I decided the $9 to see The Life Aquatic was too much. The movie is getting old, will probably be out on video in a month or so, when I'll be able to buy the DVD for that much. Wes Anderson's last movie, The Royal Tenenbaums, is one of my favorite all-time films (oddly enough, though, I'm not as into Rushmore, but I might need another viewing of that one), but I'd rather see Oscar contenders now. Since White Marsh Loews had none playing except The Aviator, which I've seen, and since I didn't want to drive all the way out to The Charles from where I was to see Sideways, The Long Engagement or Hotel Rwanda (god, I want to see that oen badly), I instead just bought Chinese food at the China Wok next to Giant. I came home with my new vacuum bags in hopes of cleaning up and maybe watching some episodes of The Wire if I can figure out how to set up my DVD player, because I'm sick of watching DVDs on my computer screen because I get too fidgety and check my e-mail and shit. I have the cheapest television in the world, though, and have never figured out how to set up the VCR and the DVD player at the same time, and I've had to move them around so much that all the wires are mismatched. I think I want to permanently move it into my bedroom, since there's a decent TV stand in there that I use for a tiny boombox, and maybe I'll undertake that task tonight. Or maybe I'll just finish my vacuuming job.

So, yup, I'm better. Back to runon sentences about mundane activities. I might not feel like a million bucks, but I feel like a fifty or so, and that's not too bad considering I wasn't feeling much more than pocket lint earlier this week. Three days away from work (and, oddly enough, I'm not getting "charged" for any of them because I'm smooth) and lots of rest later, I'll be back to the grind tomorrow. I think I'm still calling out sick from the restaurant tomorrow - nobody wants a coughing, sniffly waiter - but otherwise I hope I'm back to normal. Yay for Tamiflu.