Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2004

Stress, posted at 4:08 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I really need a relaxing break. Today, I had to plan three different lessons because my 9th graders decided to act like jerks to the substitute on Monday, but only during 7th period. The substitute was the best sub in the school, Mr. Blue, who taught for 25 years in a city public school and now substitute teachers for $70 a day. He's this huge black gay guy who wears a pinky ring and colossol green sweaters. As a teacher, you always want Mr. Blue to be your sub, because he's the best, and my kids treated him badly.

So I told them that apparently they celebrated their holiday party on Monday already, so today we would write an in-class essay ("How is the Odyssey like a reflction of life's journey?"). They hated me for that. The other two classes, who were good for the sub, got to do different things - the 9th graders played Jeopardy, while the 11th graders did some station work on Frankenstein.

I have to figure out how I can find time to make vegetarian chili even though I work from 5-11 tonight. I think I've decided to give/loan "Bobby" $100 to help him buy Christmas presents for his family. He is no longer in debt and is looking to get a job at Pizza Hut this weekend. He was proud of that and came and told me today. Hopefully he's getting off the streets.

Today, a student helped me look for some papers. She's a hyper mature girl who I like a lot and have a friendly relationship with because she went on the Outward Bound trip with me. We're looking, and suddenly she says, "Mr. E, you really just need a woman." It was funny and oh so true.

In better news, a parent got me a $25 gift certificate to Barnes and Noble today for Christmas. That's a first.