Sunday, Dec. 12, 2004

Good weekend @ the restaurant., posted at 6:07 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It was one of those weekends at the restaurant that reminds me why I do it. I made a lot of money - almost enough to take care of rent for the month - and things seem to be picking up there. My faith has maybe carried me through. I'm hoping that every shift is a good one from here on out.

On the other hand, I'm terribly exhausted from having the upstairs section both Saturday night and Sunday morning, and going up and down those steep, steep stairs has really made my legs and back sore.

A while ago, I was googling our restaurant online, and found this review: I am not new to this restaurant, but I had a new experience there this weekend. Food was delicious! However, there were many negative aspects to my experience. Called for reservations and asked for a table for 2 near the live music. We sat upstairs...didn't even hear the music over the loud conversation of the large 12 top behind us. Everytime the waiter walked up the steps, the floor shook, moving the beverages across the table. The waiter was sweating to the point, that we were wondering if the soup had a "special addition"...if you know what I mean. The service was horrible. We waited 20 minutes just for our first drink and the wine glass left much to be desired...come on...you could have put a little more in the glass....tryin' to make a buck are ya?? When the meals came, no one checked back with us to see if we needed anything..."uh, how 'bout the beer I ordered with my appetizer about 20 minutes ago???" I am sorry, if I am paying good money for a meal out with my special someone(which we do often), I want attention, timeliness and my glass full at all times. I don't think we will be back very soon. -oh and, could you purchase your silverware somewhere other than the dollar store. Sorry, not a pick for me anytime soon. I hope that I hear it has changed, because the cuisine was wonderful...but all the negative things outway the good meal. I give 1 star for the food....

This is the only negative review I've ever seen of our restaurant, and I've bolded the part that I think about all the time. First off, I don't think this was about me. Yes, it was written in March of 2004, when I did work there, but I can't imagine not keeping glasses full. I am pretty good at the waiting tables thing. But, I admit, I do sweat. When I'm running up and down those stairs like crazy, it's impossible not to. Everyone does. Today, I immediately changed my shirt when I got home because it was damp. It's what happens. But I'm incredibly self-conscious about it since I read that review, which wasn't even (probably) about me.

Anyhow, the review is now a big joke at the restaurant, because whenever any of us is sweating, we always accuse he/she of being the sweaty waiter.

People last night were really nice, and pretty nice today. I sold 23 slavic bloody marys and mimosas, winning a bottle of wine for the second Sunday in a row. But, for some reason, people feel like they shouldn't tip as much for brunch as they do for dinner. I'm not sure why, as I work much harder during brunch shifts for much, much less money. I sold $671 worth of stuff today and made just $106 in tips, but had to tip out 20% (and I ended up tipping out 25%, since it is minimum 20% and I thought the barista deserved more). So I worked my ass off for nine hours and made $81, which is alright - better than a lot of Sundays - but I worked just half of my ass off last night and made double that. It's all about the brunch, and people tipping cheap because it's breakfast and somehow the server isn't working as hard on breakfast. It's actually more work. I mean, imagine how much work it takes to run up and down filling up coffee, getting two courses of food, funning up and down the check and then the credit card slip. All that for $4.50 on a $29.77 bill. That was particularly an assholey table. Come on, you couldn't leave $5? Even that would have been low, but $4.50 just seems like you're going out of your way to be spitefully cheap.

Every dollar counts. I immediatley add in my head if it's a decent tip. There is so big of a different on a $5 tip versus a $6 tip on a $30 bill. I become obsessed with it. Today, I didn't too much, though, because I was so busy. And it was a good busy. Too bad I'm now done of the night and will probably go to bed at 8pm. I probably need that, anyway.

Off to read some chapters of the Odyssey. And ponder why the Tigers have come up empty at the winter meetings so far...

Eight school days until vacation, and ten days until Holden and I are back in Michigan for almost a week. I'm excited.