Monday, Dec. 13, 2004

I can roll myself on down the line, telling everyone that I'm just fine, posted at 10:49 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I stayed at school until 8:15 today, grading papers. I then sped home, changed my clothes, bemoaned my existence, and headed to the gym and Trader Joe's. I arrived at Trader Joe's at 9:02pm, so could not get in to get something for my lunch tomorrow, and the workout pretty much sucked because I saw a girl I messed around with a couple of years ago (you know, back when I was 20 pounds fitter and did adult activities, besides drinking, on occasion) and left, somewhat embarrassed, before we could make eye contact. Actually, I pretty much used it as an excuse to go.

Tonight is my first night off until Thursday night, when I have coach class after school. More than half of my students are currently failing and I'm expecting a big crew. The tougher I am, the higher my expectations, the harder my job is. Students at school are doing Henry V on Thursday and Friday night as well, so I might be roped into that. But, Dave has offered to build me a website for my house concert venue and help me with getting a domain name if I drive him down the camera stuff he left at my last house concert. Or, I might just go to the Happy Hour.

Either way, it's going to be a busy week. I'm exhausted just thinking about it. Or maybe I'm just exhausted because it's 10:55pm and my alarm is scheduled to go off in five and a half hours. Even though it went off today at that same time and I didn't get up until after 7.

So, Patti Rothberg is confirmed for Jan. 28. She's the biggest name I've ever had for my house concert series, as she's played Leno and Letterman, had a top-40 single that even showed up on karaoke lists, and (I think) had an album go gold. That was 1996, and she's now independent, but her management sent me a huge amount of cards and posters to promote the show. This is cool, and a first. I'm excited.

And tired. I'm back to writing quizzes for books 14 and 15 of the Odyssey and figuring out how I'm going to work my group work tomorrow.