Monday, Oct. 11, 2004

Next Happy Hour, posted at 5:04 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Reprinted from previous entry, at A Fool's Fate's suggestion:

So I have a few ideas for the next meetup/Happy Hour, since she nominated me. I'm thinking that another Thursday might work well. Maybe Oct. 28? Or would the Thursday after (Nov 4) work better? Also, I think one of the cool things of Happy Hours is discovering new places to go, or showing others cool places you know, and I've got a few ideas:

Ryan's Daughter. Cool, big place with lots of space. It's an Irish bar - not the cheapest, but not horribly overpriced. It's in Belvedere Square. Good food and a cool area of the city that has really gotten a facelift in the last year or so. This is located in the old Chili's, but the owners have really made it their own. Good food - seafood pies.

The Red Star: Beautiful new bar in Fell's Point. High ceilings; it almost looks like a ski lodge. The decor is really striking. They have pizza and cheap food, but beer is a little pricey ($3 or something).

Lulu's Off Broadway in Fell's Point. It's not as nice as either of the other two, but it has a cool atmosphere and better prices than either. It also has a pretty cool menu, with things like white bean guacomole. The owner is a nice guy and I know the place is struggling, so I'd be happy to support it. It also has Resurrection on tap, which is a big reason I like it. Plus, this is where I learned to love the Dark 'n' Stormy. They make 'em, and they're good.

I've also experienced 1.7th Generation, and would certainly support that, although I've got to do more research on when it opens. Although I'm not sure if people would be into a Japanese karaoke bar that's sort of pricey.

Anyhow, I'd love to start taking feedback on it.


****

Not a very auspicious morning, waking up to find Christopher Reeve and Ken Caminiti both dead. Reeve broke his neck a month before I graduated from high school, and it's one of those little events where I can remember where I heard it and can mark events in time with. What a sad guy.

I woke up at 4:30 today and am off to the gym right now. Been doing good lately. I can't believe how freaking cold it is, though. Not ready for that.