Sunday, Oct. 10, 2004

$28, posted at 8:22 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last night, I worked from 4:30 until 10:30 and made $28. I had four tables the entire night; it was really shitty. However, I graded essays the whole time. I have in my head that I'd really like to get the kids their essays back tomorrow, so I'll be busy working on them today. I hope I don't have time at the restaurant to do them, because if I do it will mean we're dead and I'm not making any money, but if it comes to that, at least I'll be prepared.

I hate it when you have a nice table of two older women, and you're chatting them up all night, and they eat so slow but you're patient with them, and they spend $36 and leave you $6. That is not even a horrible tip (I never leave less than 20% if the server does a good job, but 16.7% isn't bad at all), but to spend an extra hour at work for the $4 after tipout just sucks.

The Zagat survey just came back. Everything is very positive, except for one comment about, "If you want to have a conversation, go upstairs. The bands are loud." Well, last night I had the section most affected by that loud band, which was louder than usual. Ugh. People asked to sit elsewhere. Plus, it was pretty dead to begin with.