Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Dr. Atkins wouldn't be happy with me, posted at 12:56 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I feel like I'm going to turn into a giant pierogi after all of them I ate yesterday working at my restaurant's booth at the Ukrainian Festival. And holushki... mmm, I just love that stuff. We stopped serving it at the restaurant because cabbage doesn't keep, and I really miss it. It can't be that hard; I'm going to try to learn how to make that stuff.

Yesterday was a long day - 10-4 at the restaurant, and 4-9 at the festival. But it was a fun day. I made around $60 at brunch, which isn't terrible, and the Polish Girl and I were both doing the double shift. We stopped off at Lulu's in between, on the sly, to have a couple of Resurrections. Then, she needed someone to walk her to a bathroom with a sink, so we went to Sharkey's and had another. Being outside and slinging pierogies is much more fun when you have a bit of a buzz.

The owner, a cool lady who isn't involved as much in the restaurant as I wish she was, later bought us all Ukrainian beers while we were working, then a Slavic honey liquor that we had shots from.

I got home late, sweaty and smelly and full on pierogies, but it was a decent day. Today has also gone well. My seating chart change in my already-hated class has worked okay, and my lesson planning on Friday night has paid off. It might not be the most exciting day of class ever, but sitcoms have ten writers to entertain for 22 minutes. I have one writer - me - and I have to entertain for 90 minutes each class. I do think this joke, in one of the summer reading quizzes I gave today, was pretty funny:

5. How long did Gabriel and Eshter's relationship last?
A. Five years.
B. Nine days.
C. Six months.
D. Umpteen days, fifty-leven hours.

All the kids enjoyed that one. I would expect any Usher fans out there to get the joke. I think that song was the most played all summer on the radio.

By the way, there was a really good article on hip-hop radio in this week's City Paper. I'd link to it, but surfing is tough from school.