Friday, Sept. 10, 2004

9 Friday night non-adventures, posted at 11:33 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I have spent the evening:

1. Listening to Ray Lamontagne, who I heard on WTMD a few times and made me stop in my tracks. He's got a Joe Cocker voice, but the music is Elliot Smith sparse, and the lyrics are Brenda Kahn poetic. I don't think I've been so intrigued by a new (non hip-hop) singer/songwriter in a long time.

2. Lesson planning for next week. I need to kick ass next week or the year is going to be shot.

3. Getting ready for my big day of educational sessions and trolley rides at Live Baltimore tomorrow.

4. Trying desperately to find an e-mail address for ZZ Pa*cker. We're trying to get her in for a "One Bo*ok, One School" event that I'm helping to plan, and I was the one put in charge of finding contact info for her because I'm well-versed on the Internet. So far, no luck, though. I found a Stanford address for her, but it bounced. She used to teach hs english in baltimore before she became she became John Updike's selection as Today Show Book Club writer. Her book is good.

5. Yawned a lot, and ate peanut butter in my underwear.

6. Asked a girl out on match.com who had e-mailed me after I winked at her. I feel so middle school, but she seems halfway cool.

7. Tried to figure out who else to add as a friend on Friendster. I entered in nearly my entire graduating class from high school. Only one out of 144 came up. I didn't really enter all 144 in. But I did get out my yearbook to jog the memory bank. Then I remembered that I had few, if any, friends in high school, especially in my graduating class, and that I wouldn't find much.

8. Watched the Tigers lose.

I'm ready for bed now. So are they: