Sunday, Sept. 05, 2004

$72, posted at 9:23 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It was a weird day. I had to work at 10am, working the Sunday brunch. The restaurant where I work is notoriously slow in the summer time, but begins to pick up in mid- to late-September. Now is the time when we are hoping it will pick up. Still, our Sunday brunches have been mediocre lately. Not enough people are coming.

I worked from 10-2:45, and had about 5 tables - but one was a nine-top that I was excited about until I realized it was mostly old ladies - and made $36 for the morning. Luckily, they cut me pretty early (I was scheduled until 5), and that was nice since obviously I hadn't done very well for the day.

So I go to Bally's, and have a good workout, then head home, where I had left my cell phone. On my cell, there are three messages, all consecutive, from the Polish Girl, saying, "It's very important. Call me as soon as you get this." I get mildly excited, thinking that maybe she's left the guy for good and wants to, I don't know, marry me tomorrow so she doesn't get deported. Alas, no. They realized suddenly that it was Labor Day Eve and not just a regular Sunday night, and last year's Labor Day Eve was very busy, and could I please work tonight because the person who is on is new and can't handle more than three tables at once? Sigh... but I really need the money, and really can't say no if I don't have a good reason, so I go in. I get to wait on the family of the owner, and all of their five nieces and nephews (all under ten), but they're nice people, and it's all good. I get that, and two other small tables, and make $46 for the second trip back there. So I walked with $72 for the day. It could have been a lot worse.

I work 9-5 tomorrow there, for my last day before the school year begins. My excitement is growing.