Friday, Aug. 27, 2004

Trolling for cents, posted at 10:18 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I believe I'm exactly two weeks away from my first paycheck. Gosh, I need it. I don't know if I'm ever going to be able to buy a house with a ten-month paycheck, unless I become a master with money. I still struggle with budgeting, and, again, the month of September will pretty much be a catch-up month for me. This shouldn't be part of being a teacher, the annual catch-up. A 12-month contract is a simple computer program, a button to be pushed. It should not be difficult or onorous.

I made $31 yesterday, working 10-6. Thank god for the two girls who decided to come in during the middle of lunch shift and share a bottle of Pinot Grigio, plus another glass on top of that. They were drunk and tipped me $18. I hate scrounging for extra dollars and calculating in my head the difference between 15% (cheap bastard!) and 20% (cool).

The house I'm living in is being offered on today for $65,000. I don't like the house and am ready to leave. But if it's sold for that cheap, I'm pretty stupid for not doing it earlier. I still really want Ednor's Garden, though. I'm hoping the Home Buying workshop I'm going to attend on September 11 clears up a lot of worries I have.

I can't wait for school to start. I'm ready. I haven't read Frankenstein, but I have another week or so before that becomes apparent. Right now, my focus is on the 9th grade curriculum that I developed, making sure all the pieces are working. I need to develop the vocabulary lists and revise summer reading check tests over the weekend. I'm looking forward to seeing all my co-workers on Monday. Our English Department has 13/14 returning, which is a pretty unbelievable number. It shows how well we work together, and how well are former supervisor developed us as a team. I think the new one is going to be good, too.

Life is good. Don't work today. I guess I'm going to that powwow thing. Off to the gym right now.