Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2004

Borrowed and Blue, posted at 2:03 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Tonight, I met up with Danielle and Dave, both high school friends from when we worked back our high school newspaper. Danielle is probably the oldest friend I have now; I remember her when she was eleven, big glasses and all. We're both cops' kids, and there's always a bit of a bond between us all, especially when you grow up in a small town. Danielle now wears contacts and writes plays, and I went to see her first professional reading last night.

I tried, at least. I hate Washington DC with a passion that rarely rears its head in my direction. Like, I'm talking I scream things like, "God damn it all!" when I'm driving alone, and Florida Street decides to turn into U Street with nary a warning, or "Fuck this fucking shit!" when I'm concentrating on following along on 18th street, and a traffic circle appears, and there are six directions off of it and I can't see where 18th Street is and of course I take the wrong way. Now, I rarely even curse. But when I'm driving in Washington, I turn into DaBrettMan.

I also find the city petulantly unfriendly, saved only by the fact that it's surrounded by a highway, so that I know that in any direction I head, I'll eventually hit 495 and I'll be able to get home. I think my main beef with the city (besides its itinerant inhabitants) is the driving, so maybe I should just take the Marc Train every time. I just wish it ran all night.

Alright, I'll quit complaining. It was great to see Danielle and Dave, although I missed Danielle's show because of my tardiness. Still, it was well worth the trip. Danielle's fiance hasn't lost his cool points since the last time I saw him, despite his status as a Boston Red Sox fan. I'm so nice, I didn't even bring up the moronic Nomar trade.

We all went out for Ethiopian food after the show. I'd gone to that place across from the Senator (don't remember the name), but they didn't serve it communcal style like this place did. It was weird, but good. I ate a ton. My sad and ironic association now with Ethiopian food is that, damn, I'm really stuffed after eating it; there servings are just too big.

I have to teach tomorrow and it's 2:18am right now. That's what I get when I take a nap, I guess. By the way, I had my first blogging dream, starring a couple of B-more bloggers. I only remember my dreams when I nap.