Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2004

See I don't need to fucking hook on this beat. All I need is a track in the background, my headphones loud, keep the blunt goin' round, I'm a rip ., posted at 3:11 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's becoming clear to me that this is one of those years that my classroom will have to be an oasis for my students. I'll need to shut the door and say, "Alright, you're in Epiphany's class now. None of what is going on in the hallway or the office matters. You're here to work and learn and that's all there is to it." Only the announcement over the PA will destroy the illusion.

I had to do it last year, when I was worried every day that I would lose my job because of budget cuts. This year, I'm sure we'll be down to almost no paper and no resources, and I'm okay with that. But right now we have no principal. Their goal was to find one by the end of the summer, but they haven't reached it, and now the Assistant Principal has been named in the interim. I'm not going to discuss her on here, but this is no thrilling news. I guess it's nice that we didn't just give the first person off the street the job, but it would be nice to have someone there to be our rudder since I'm sure we'll be dealing with a lot of uncertainty.

I'll admit to being a little worried about teaching 11th grade Brit Lit. I checked out an audio version of MacBeth to listen to in the car, and I'm too dumb to listen to it. I made it through about three minutes before giving up. I'm going to have to read it,w hich I have before, but you'd think I'd know the story and the language well enough to listen to the audio and understand it. Nope. I'm going to have to work through it. I guess since I haven't read since I was a sophomore in high school, then that's okay. Maybe. I still feel dumb.

Since I've returned from orientation today, I've:

1) Argued on the Detroit Tigers forum that if Micket Tettleton had had three more good years, then he'd be in the Hall of Fame.

2) Sent out my birthday invite via e-mail to friends.

3) Eaten a whole thing of fat-free cottage cheese with a jalapeno pepper on each spoonful.

4) Listened to a lot of Murphy Lee, hence the title of this entry.

I'm heading to the gym.